How to Guide

control your privacy settings

Landcarer is a safe and secure platform. As a user you can control the privacy of everything you post or share. It’s definitely a good idea to check out your privacy settings once you sign up so you can be sure that you’re happy with who can see the content you’re sharing, and who can interact with you.

Once you’ve registered and signed into Landcarer, you can easily access and edit your privacy settings by clicking on the down arrow to the right of your profile photo or initials at the top right of the screen.

Click on ‘Privacy Settings’ from the dropdown menu to get started.

Where to locate privacy settings in the main menu

 

In the Privacy Settings area you will see four tabs that you can review and edit: Profile; Items; Email Notifications, and Blocked Users.

We go into a bit more detail about each section below so you know what default settings can be changed, and how to change them.

1. Profile

Here you can edit how other Landcarer users interact with your profile and the information within it.

Things you can control here include who can view photos on your profile page, who can view your birthday, who you’re connected to on Landcarer, and who can send you a message.

In most of these settings you can choose whether the information is viewable by the whole Landcarer community, your connections only, or no one except yourself. In the birthday section you can choose whether to show your whole birthday, just your age or no information at all.

Simply click on the dropdown menu to the right of each item and selection the option you’re happiest with. Click on the green ‘Save Changes’ button at the bottom of the page once you’re done.

List of privacy settings on Landcarer

2. Items

In this section you can decide who can see the photos, videos, stories, and any other content that you share on Landcarer.

Using the dropdown menus to the right of the items listed you can select whether what you’re sharing is visible to your connections on Landcarer, people connected to your connections, or just to yourself if you’d like to keep something private.

Once you change the settings here the new setting will be applied to anything you share from then on, but the items you’ve shared previously won’t be affected.

And remember, you can change the privacy settings on a single item when uploading that item. For more on this, go to the bottom of this page (link to bottom of the page).

3. Email Notifications

In this tab you can decide which actions on Landcarer you’d like to be notified about via email. You can change the default settings to suit your own needs.

If the button to the right of the action in the list is green, you will receive an email every time that action takes place. You can turn off these emails by clicking on the green button, and it will turn grey. This means you won’t receive an email every time this action happens.

As an example, if you’d like to be emailed every time someone send you a message through Landcarer, leave the button beside “New Messages” green. If you don’t want to be emailed whenever someone likes something you’ve shared, turn the button for ‘Notification for “Likes”’ off.

Be sure to click the ‘Save Changes’ button at the bottom of the box if you make any changes in this section.

Privacy settings for notifications

4. Blocked Users

It is pretty unlikely that you’ll ever need to do this, but if you do need to block a user, you have this capacity. To see who you have blocked click on the ‘Blocked Users’ tab.

If you block a user on Landcarer they won’t be able to interact with you through the platform.

If you want to block a user, you need to visit their profile. To find their profile you can search for their name in the search bar at the top of the page once you’re logged into Landcarer, and click on their name to open their profile.

In their profile you need to click on the three dot icon on the bottom left of their cover photo to reveal a menu. Select ‘Block this User’ from this menu.

where to click to block someone's profile

Display for blocking a user

Once you have blocked a user you will go to the privacy settings section of your account and see this user in the ‘Blocked User’ tab.

If you’d like to unblock them, you simply click on the Unblock button beside their name, and you will be able to interact with them again.

Blocked users list

If you are having any issues with a user and are trying to figure out if you need to block them please feel free to contact us and we’ll see if we can help.

Privacy settings for single items

If you’d like a different privacy setting for a single item, you can select this while posting. For example you may want to share some photos just so they’re saved in your Landcarer profile, but you don’t really want other people to see them.

If you are sharing a photo or video, you would go to the ‘What’s on your mind?’ box in your profile. You will see a dropdown menu beside the green ‘Share button’. You can use this to select the level of privacy you’d like for that particular post.

WHere to change privacy on a single item

You can also change the privacy level after you’ve shared a post.

Go to the post on your profile, and click on the three dots on the top right of the photo or video to reveal a menu. Click on ‘Edit Feed’.

Once the ‘Edit Feed’ box opens you can click on the dropdown menu at the bottom of the box and select your preferred privacy option.

Button for toggling privacy on a post

Click on the green ‘Update button’ to save your changes.

So that’s how you can control your privacy settings within Landcarer to suit your needs.

If you are curious about other privacy policies we have on the platform, please read through our EULA.

If you are having trouble with any of this, don’t hesitate to contact us at hithere@landcarer.com.au

 

Related Articles